Point Shooting Practice (safely) With Laser Trainers

2 Jun

I was reading my own book and wanted to add a thought. On page 110, after mentioning the book “No Second Place Winner” and point shooting, I transitioned into talking about laser training devices for pistols. Those are good for practicing point shooting. Many gun ranges frown upon (or disallow) point shooting. As a rule, they want all bullets going downrange. You can be off target by a good deal when you first abandon your sights. That’s why I recommend laser trainers. Anyway, it’s important to follow all firearms safety rules (something I hope I stressed in my book!) and to follow all gun range rules when practicing. As mentioned in the book, the reason I discuss point shooting is that studies have shown that at close distances under stress, most shooters abandon their sights.

